Friends of Orthodoxy…

April 4, 2007

The world is changed.  I feel it in the water.  I feel it in the earth.  I smell it in the air.  Much that once was, is lost, for none now live who remember it.   Galadriel of Middle Earth, The Lord of the Rings

John Franke writes the following in the foreward to A Generous Orthodoxy

“Like the inhabitants of Middle Earth, followers of Jesus Christ from across the diverse ecclesiastical and theological spectrum of North American Christianity have a growing sense that the world they have known is changing.  Strange things are happening in unexpected places, long-familiar assumptions are being called into question, and new conversations are taking place between longtime adversaries, sometimes resulting in surprising alliances.”

To characterize Mennonites and Eastern Orthodoxy as adversaries would be a non-truth.  Our ecclesial traditions have not overlapped very much in the last 500 years.  As the world continues to change, however, an unexpected conversation has emerged between these two traditions.  This weblog is another step in nurturing this dialogue and inviting others to join the conversation.

Peace,

Brian

2 Responses to “Friends of Orthodoxy…”

  1. Brinton said

    Brian,

    I am new to blogging, so I am just experimenting with a reply to see if I can do it. I note that I do not see a link to your paper that you posted. I am looking forward to the dialog.

    Brinton

  2. lancastertheoblogy said

    Brinton,
    I am new to WordPress as a platform for blogging. I now have my paper uploaded in a post from today.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

